SQL - How to return blank records

Meeting place for R&R customers and clients to share tips and ideas. Post your questions, messages or problems here.
SimonBray

SQL - How to return blank records

Post by SimonBray » Wed Jun 19, 2002 11:12 am

I am new to using R&R SQL version 9 (have used XBase version for 12 years) so forgive my ignorance if my question is trivial or nonsense. I am trying to relate a master table to a secondary table and if I do not find any records in the secondary table I still want the master record to be included in my data set. In Xbase R&R this was the default action. The problem I seem to have with SQL is that in order to relate to the secondary table I am having to specify an outer join (I am looking for records in the secondary table with a matching order number but also with a certain criteria on another of the fields in the secondary table - so my join is where master.orderno=secodnary.orderno and where master.criteria=secondary.criteria). This does not seem to permit the equivalent of returning "Blank" if no match found.____Am I making any sense to anyone ?____Regards,__Simon.

kfleming

=> SQL - How to return blank records

Post by kfleming » Wed Jun 19, 2002 12:47 pm

For the non-matching records, all of the fields in the related table will be empty. So if you are filtering on conditions where a master field has to be equal to a related field, those blanks will disappear.__You really need to OR a condition where MASTER.linkfield is not equal to RELATED.linkfield since that will be true for all of the blank related records.____Kathleen__R&R Support

Simon_Bray_(Guest)

==> RE: SQL - How to return blank recs

Post by Simon_Bray_(Guest) » Thu Jul 04, 2002 7:16 am