Passing parameters in 8.1
-
- Posts: 170
- Joined: Tue Oct 10, 2017 12:44 pm
Passing parameters in 8.1
I am passing a parameter in the .dll and I am using "?" to prompt the user for a value. Is there a way to supply a default value in that box so the user can just hit OK to continue?____Thanks,
=> RE: Passing parameters in 8.1
You can certainly do that in Version 9 but in 8.1 the way you might do this is inside of the report itself via the calculation that uses the parameter.__For example:__IIF(ISBLANK(RIPARAM("test")),"The default",RIPARAM("test"))____will return the text string "The default" when nothing was input to the test parameter at runtime.____Kathleen__R&R Support
-
- Posts: 170
- Joined: Tue Oct 10, 2017 12:44 pm
==> RE: Passing parameters in 8.1
I was hoping to have a default value show up in the box as a first guess for the user. In my code I would always pass something in so the parameter would never be blank inside the report. Has Ver 9 changed the way parameters are passed this way?____Thanks,
===> RE: Passing parameters in 8.1
Version 9 has added a new parameterr field type.__It allows you to create a field with default value and validation criteria and have that field automatically prompted when the report is executed.____Kathleen__R&R Support
-
- Posts: 170
- Joined: Tue Oct 10, 2017 12:44 pm
====> RE: Passing parameters in 8.1
Ver 9 sounds promising, a bit expensive since I recently bought 8.1 on both XBASE and SQL. If I install ver 9 do I need to uninstall 8.1 (are files overwritten?)?____Thanks,
=====> RE: Passing parameters in 8.1
Un-installing 8.1 and then installing V9 is the best approach.____There are lots of common filenames between the two versions.____Kathleen__R&R Support